Great British Bake Off: Chocolate Cake

Standard

The Great British Bake Off started with cakes.
The 13 contestants were asked to bake a signature sandwich cake, their skills were tested in the blind test with an Angel Food Cake and they had to wow Paul and Mary with a show stopper chocolate cake.
I took a chocolate and cherry cake into my office to wow my colleagues, and win over my bosses.
I used this recipe for a rich chocolate wedding cake but halved the recipe – I thought 50 portions was probably too much!
I thought half the cooking time would probably be about right but when I checked it after an hour it was still very wobbly so baked for about another five minutes.
I filled it with sweetened whipped cream and topped with cherries for a fuss free but impressive looking cake.
The recipe was simple to follow and the finished product was delicious – I heard yummy noises coming from around the office!

20130903-174907.jpg

Leave a Reply

