Home Made High Tea

Standard

My parents had some friends over for the weekend recently and asked me to do some baking for them. They see these friends, who they met on their honeymoon, about twice a year and have done so for the past 25 years, impressive right?

Anyway, they were getting here earlier in the day than usual so my mum wanted to put a nice lunch spread on for them. Here it is.

Who needs the Ritz? Home-made high tea.

There were four different types of finger sandwich; cheese and pickle, cucumber, smoked salmon and cream cheese and ham and tomato. I then made Raspberry Macarons, following this recipe but changing the filling. I then did chocolate brownies and scones with clotted cream and jam. My mum made some mini fruit tarts to go on top by using the left over pastry from my trifle tart failure, a little bit of custars and some fresh fruit.

It was a lovely afternoon and looked really impressive, definitely something I’d do again.

Fruit tarts, raspberry macarons, brownies and scones.

Leave a Reply

