Visiting My Grandparents: Home-Made Bread and War-Time Cakes

Standard

Last weekend my family and I went to The Mayflower, in Southampton, to see Sister Act. It’s a musical I’ve wanted to see for ages so when my mum told me that we were going for my Nana and Pappy’s 50th wedding anniversary I was thrilled!

My grandparents, who live in the New Forest, took me home with them after the show and I stayed at theirs for the night. The idea of sleeping over at my nana and pappy’s was amazing because I knew that in the morning I’d get The Good Bread!

For as long as I can remember, my grandparents have had a bread maker. In the evening, before bed, my nana will put in all the ingredients and set the timer so that, by the morning, we all wake up to a house smelling like freshly cooked bread. It’s incredible and, to this day, whenever I smell fresh bread it reminds me of staying with them.

My grandparents' freshly baked bread.

This time though, there was an extra surprise! My Nana has been following this blog and giving me ideas for baking so she’d made a loaf cake for me to sample!

My Nana had made me an Ovaltine Loaf Cake, a war-time recipe which requires no eggs or butter, so it’s virtually fat-free! The cake tastes a bit like Malt Loaf, which I suppose would make sense as Ovaltine is a malt drink, but I was pleasantly surprised when I tried it. The sponge was so moist and sticky. My granddad emailed (yes emailed!) me the recipe:

  • 6oz self-raising flour
  • 3oz sugar
  • 1.5 oz raisins
  • 3 tbsp Ovaltine
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 0.5 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 0.5 pint skimmed milk
  1. Heat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade.
  2. Sieve flour, salt and baking soda together.
  3. Mix in the Ovaltine and raisins.
  4. Fold in the milk gently.
  5. Pour into a loaf tin and bake for an hour or until a knife comes out of the loaf clean.
war-time malted cake

War-time, Ovaltine loaf cake.

 

Leave a Reply

