Red Velvet Cake – Valentines Day Special

Standard

As the majority of my university friends are single and my boyfriend lives in a land far, far away I thought it would be nice to keep us all loved up by baking a special Valentines Day cake. 

Naturally I logged into the BBC GoodFood website and saw that they were suggesting a four-tier red velvet chocolate cake, it look incredible, extravagant and just the ticket to acknowledge V-Day without feeling lonely and pathetic.

On Monday morning I popped out armed with my list of ingredients and a shopping bag, I wanted to be prepared for this one, the cake looked far too good to just wing it with whichever ingredients I had in the house.

45 minutes, a sore arm and nearly £15.00 later I was back at home with a cup of tea and the oven heating up.

I followed the recipe exactly except instead of using four sandwich tins I used two big cake tins, expecting to be able to cut the sponges in half when they had cooled.

I was surprised to see that the recipe needed beetroot but I went with it, having never been steered wrong by GoodFood yet.

The results were not as spectacular as I was hoping.

After the right amount of cooking time I took the cakes out, did the old knife in the sponge test (which came out clean) and I left them to cool, in the meantime making the cream cheese icing.

I let an hour or so pass and then removed the cakes from the tins which appeared to have sunk since taking them out of the oven.

I got a long serrated knife and began to cut the sponges in half, only to realise that the sponge was wet and stodgy, it were as if it hadn’t cooked at all. One bit of the sponge fell apart completely and the other sponges had holes, it was a mess.

After using all the broken bits to patch up what looked like a very poorly, broken cake I sandwiched the pieces together and covered the entire thing with icing, at last there was no evidence of the disaster, nobody would know it was mutton dressed as lamb.

The cake didn’t look as amazing as the one photographed with the recipe but, I have to say, it looked pretty impressive.

Image

So, I took the cake over to my friends house and immediately wished I hadn’t wasted the entire day baking. Now, I’m not saying the cake was disgusting, some people liked it and some people didn’t, I’d just say if a cake is going to taste so much like beetroot it should be called beetroot cake not chocolate cake. 

The sponge was really heavy, it tasted weird and it has far too many calories in it to be worthwhile. I felt sick after a small slice just knowing how much butter was in there (500g).

Next Valentines Day I’ll be sure to sit miserably alone watching action films and hating the world.

Leave a Reply

