Mini Custard Tarts (Pasteis de nata)

Standard

Last night on MasterChef the final eight were challenged to cook a dish inspired by either France, Italy or Spain. After watching the contestants battle it out I was inspired to make something a little less British.

I trawled through the BBC GoodFood website (which by now I’m sure you’re aware is my food bible), and decided on some simple looking custard tarts from Portugal. They’re called Pasteis de nata and they’re delicious, I’ve had to suggest to my house mate that she takes them into work tomorrow to save me eating all of them.

They’re certainly not the prettiest thing I’ve ever baked but they’re by far one of the easiest and tastiest.

Portuguese custard tarts (Pasteis de nata)

Originally printed in BBC magazine Olive, you can find the recipe here. I used a shop bought all butter puff pastry, as suggested, and lemon juice instead of lemon skin.

 

Leave a Reply

