Lemon Macarons

Standard

I fell in love with macarons on the day my mum took me for afternoon tea at The Langham Hotel in London. It was a mini mouthful of creamy, crunchy, almond and pistachio. I can’t describe how beautiful it was. I’d never tasted anything that was both delicate and bold. It was incredible, truly.

Since then I’ve had a few naff ones but they’ve still been better than any cake or pudding I’ve ever tasted.

So, I decided to take on the challenge of making my own. I had been warned that macarons are beyond tricky to make but I didn’t care. I wanted to know that I could have little explosions of loveliness in my mouth any time I wanted.

The recipe I used was fairly simple. I’ve seen a few that called for Italian Meringue and hours of painstaking whisking so I was expecting this bake to be one of the most challenging experiences of my life. It wasn’t.

I made a basic meringue with egg whites and caster sugar and then added icing sugar, ground almonds and yellow food colouring. The mixture was thicker than I was expecting but was really easy to pipe into little circles which I’d previously drawn onto some greaseproof paper. While they were cooking (25 minutes at 120c) I whisked some double cream until it was thick and swirled in a couple of spoons of lemon curd.

Now, I don’t want to blow my own trumpet but I think I’m going to have to. They were INCREDIBLE!!! And as a pretty hard nosed macaroon critic I think that’s saying something. And look how pretty they are!!

Lemon Macarons

One response »

  1. Pingback: Home Made High Tea « Big Fat Baking

Leave a Reply

