Lemon Drizzle Cake (how to make one with no lemons!)

Standard

When I started this blog  one of the things I wanted to tell people is that you can bake really yummy treats for yourself whenever you fancy using whatever you have in the cupboards at the time.

A few days ago, after a particularly miserable and rainy day, my house mates and I decided we really wanted a lemon drizzle cake. So how do you make a lemon drizzle cake without any lemons?!

Well obviously you need the basics:

170g self raising flour

170g caster sugar

170g butter

3 eggs

To make the basic batter it’s just the same as any other cake recipe, cream the butter and sugar then add a little flour followed by one egg at a time. Whisk it all up until it’s light and fluffy and beautiful looking! Then came the flavouring…

Being a student household we didn’t have any lemons lying around but we did have one of those little bottles of lemon juice left which we bought for having pancakes whenever we fancied them. I put a good drizzle of that in the batter and then had a bit of a brain wave. I wanted the cake to have that fresh citrus flavour so I looked in my fruit bowl to see if I could improvise.

I had just bought a bag of clementines so I decided to use these. I grated the zest of three clementines into the batter, gave it a good stir and popped it into the oven for as long as necessary!

For the icing instead of mixing the icing sugar with water I squeezed the juice from the clementines and then used that.

Once the cake was baked I used a wooden skewer to make holes in the cake and then poured the icing over the top.

Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to take a photo for you as my house mates and I ate it before I remembered to. Proof enough that it was delicious and backing up my theory that you can bake a yummy treats everyday!

Leave a Reply

