Weight Watchers’ Mini Lemon Cup Cakes

Standard

Now before I start this story I should probably list my essentials for baking:

  • mixing bowl
  • wooden spoon
  • whisk
  • cake tin
  • scales

Now I’ll list the contents of my boyfriend, Joe’s kitchen:

  • pint glass
  • teaspoon
  • baking tray

There may be a few other bits and pieces lying around but that’s about it.

So, spending last week with Joe and his house mates I decided to try out a very basic baking kit which just required water and a quick stir. I found this with Weight Watchers’ Mini Lemon Cupcake Mix.

Mini Lemon Cupcake Mix

The preparation and bake were really, really easy. I literally just added water to the cake mix and stirred. The box included cake cases so I just put them on a flat baking tray once filled and they only needed 8 minutes in the oven. The icing was exactly the same, just a dab of water and a stir.

The cakes themselves were tiny, which I guess is why you can eat one while dieting, and the lemon icing was extremely sharp. They were quite heavy and altogether quite disappointing.

They were probably the best I could do with such minimal effort but I was left feeling unsatisfied. If you’re on a diet just don’t eat cake and if you want a quick easy solution to your cake needs buy a different brand.

Weight Watchers Mini Lemon Cupcake Mix: 3/10

3 responses »

  1. Dear Jennie,

    I feel hurt that my contribution for these cakes (measuring out the water for the icing) wasn’t mentioned and I still feel that you owe me a name-drop.

    Lots of love xxx

Leave a Reply

