Chocolate Cake with Scrumptious Chocolate Icing

Standard

So, being a true woman, my first baking endeavour had to be a chocolate cake. Now I’m not saying I’m chocolate crazy, I don’t have to have it everyday, in fact since my recent health kick I’ve barely touched it, but sometimes you just need it.

First off I wanted to prove that baking is simple and you don’t need fancy ingredients to make a cake, so I decided to use whatever I could find in the house. Being a baking household already we did have the basic ingredients in but there were a few missing essentials.

For the cake I mixed together 120g of caster sugar and 120g of butter until it was nice and smooth and creamy. In a separate bowl I mixed up 60g of plain flour (we didn’t have self-raising) and 60g of cocoa powder, sifted and set aside. Then, bit by bit, I mixed the flour and cocoa powder into the creamy butter mix until it was all combined. Lastly I whisked in two eggs. I smeared some butter around a cake tin and popped in the oven. After it had been in for about 10 minutes I realised I’d forgotten baking powder – to make it rise – but figured the cake would taste good whatever.

Now, my oven is very temperamental so I can’t give you a specific baking time but I just kept checking it and when it looked like it was done poked it with a knife to make sure there were no raw bits. This is what it looked like:

Just Out of the Oven

Because I’d forgotten to put in the baking powder the cake hadn’t risen but it smelt nice. While it cooled down I made the icing.

I mixed together 85g of icing sugar and 85g of cocoa powder and then beat it into 85g of butter. The beating took quite a while but I was watching celebrity masterchef at the same time so just concentrated on that rather than my achey arm! When I’d finished the icing was quite thick so I added a splash of milk, gave it a good stir and popped it in the fridge.

When the cake had finished cooling I cut the cake in half like this:

Halves

Now, I’m not sure whether it’s because the mix was so heavy, or because the cake so flat, or any other reason, but when I cut it in half it crumbled a bit. Not to worry though, I used the icing to stick it all together and make it prettier!

This is what it looked like when I was done:

Chocolate Cake

So, this wasn’t a perfect cake but it tasted and looked great! My housemate Ellie loved it and kept asking if she could have another slice! It was quick to make and really really simple!

Leave a Reply

